FLEXspace Research and Evaluation Working Group

The FLEXspace Research & Evaluation Working Group (FREWG) aims to identify and advance opportunities for research and development that will facilitate evidence-based and data-informed practice in the learning spaces arena. Of particular interest are opportunities that both leverage the capabilities of FLEXspace as an open resource-sharing repository and community as well as contribute to its ongoing growth and development. Part of the latter involves providing the FLEXspace and broader learning space community with a “toolkit” containing guides and instruments to assist them in carrying out replicable and repeatable research and evaluation studies.

The Working Group is undertaking activities in the following focus areas:

  1. Stakeholder criteria for evaluating learning spaces (Coordinator: Kevin McDonough)
  2. Usage/applications of FLEXspace and the Learning Space Rating System (Coordinator: TBA)
  3. Learning space design patterns and analytics (Coordinator: Mark J. W. Lee)
  4. Virtual and hybrid-flexible (HyFlex) learning spaces (Coordinator: Brian Beatty)

For more information about FREWG and its activities, please contact the Chair, Mark J. W. Lee.

Working Group Members

  • Patricia Aceves, Assistant Provost and Senior Director, Center for Excellence in Learning & Teaching, Stony Brook University, United States
  • John Augeri, Co-Founder and Director, Paris Ile-de-France Digital University, France
  • Brian Beatty, Associate Vice Provost for Academic Affairs Operations and Associate Professor of Instructional Technologies, San Francisco State University, United States
  • Tracey Birdwell, Principal Consultant, Mosaic Initiative, Indiana University, United States
  • D. Christopher Brooks, Director of Research, EDUCAUSE, United States
  • Lucila Carvalho, Senior Lecturer in e-Learning & Digital Technologies, Massey University, New Zealand
  • James Clay, Senior Co-Design Manager, Jisc, United Kingdom
  • Victoria Chua, Program Manager and Project Officer, School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Justin Dauwels, Associate Professor, School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Bernie Dodge, Professor of Learning Design & Technology, San Diego State University, United States
  • Shirley Dugdale, Principal, Dugdale Strategy, United States
  • Adam Finkelstein, Educational Developer, Teaching & Learning Services, McGill University, Canada
  • James Frazee, Senior Academic Technology Officer and Director of Instructional Technology Services, San Diego State University, United States
  • Dana Gierdowski, Researcher, EDUCAUSE, United States
  • Valerie Irvine, Assistant Professor of Educational Technology and Co-Director, Technology Integration and Evaluation (TIE) Research Lab, University of Victoria, Canada
  • Mark J. W. Lee (Working Group Chair), Adjunct Senior Lecturer, School of Education, Charles Sturt University, Australia and Visiting Faculty, Entertainment Technology Center, Carnegie Mellon University, United States
  • Katie Linder, Research Director, Oregon State Ecampus, Oregon State University, United States
  • Zack Linnert, Associate Dean of Lower School, `Iolani School, United States
  • Phil Long, Founder, RHz Consulting, United States
  • Marsha Lovett, Associate Vice Provost for Teaching Innovation & Learning Analytics and Director, Eberly Center for Teaching Excellence and Educational Innovation, Carnegie Mellon University, United States
  • Kevin McDonough, Director, Center for Teaching & Learning and Assistant Professor of English, Lackawanna College, United States
  • Peter Mozelius, Postdoctoral Researcher, Department of Computer and System Science, Mid Sweden University, Sweden
  • Jeanne Narum, Principal, Learning Spaces Collaboratory and Director, Independent Colleges Office, United States
  • Duncan Peberdy, Consultant, Droitwich.Net, United Kingdom
  • Crystal Ramsay, Faculty Programs Manager, Teaching and Learning with Technology, The Pennsylvania State University, United States
  • Rebecca Rotundo, Instructional Technology Specialist, University at Buffalo, United States
  • Robin Støckert, Assistant Professor, Department of General Science, Faculty of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
  • Brit Toven-Lindsey, Active Learning Specialist, University of California, Berkeley, United States
  • Keith Webster, Dean of Libraries and Director of Emerging and Integrative Media, Carnegie Mellon University, United States
  • Pippa Yeoman, Research Fellow, The University of Sydney, Australia

Working Group News and Resources

[custom-twitter-feeds hashtag=”#FLEX_research” num=50]